Beautyblender Sponge

3 Apr

I can’t recall exactly where I first heard about Beautyblender – whether in a magazine, TV show, beauty blog… oh yes now I remember… I’m a huge fan of Kim Kardashian. We both share a prominent behind… and I think that’s where the similarities end. I’ve always loved her makeup, and was introduced to Beautyblender by her makeup artist Mario Dedivanovic in this beauty tutorial.

I love makeup. I have spent thousands of dollars on makeup. But what good is makeup if you can’t or don’t know how to apply it properly? I’ve been through sponges, using fingertips, various brushes – all of them worked well in conjunction with each other. But when I travel, I am forced to take along extra sponges and an arsenal of brushes. The sponges tend to soak in a lot of product, and didn’t so do much except to blend whatever lines the brushes left behind and even after that it was still a bit streaky and I had to finish blending with fingers.

Then came the Beautyblender sponge. At $22 cdn for one or $28 for two, it was a pricey investment. Can a makeup sponge really change my life? No, but it sure as hell saves time and space!

The first time I used it, I thought “Finally! A sponge that acknowledges that my face is neither angular nor flat!”. It’s in a teardrop shape and gets into all the nooks and crannies of your face, and just sort of ‘rolls over’ and bounces on your facial contours effortlessly. You just wet it, squeeze the water out and ‘bounce’ (they have instructional videos on their site).I use it to apply (take a deep breath) colour correction base, foundation, undereye concealer, concealer, blush, highlighter and light coloured eyeshadow. I apply my bronzer with a big fluffy brush though. It has cut my routine and time in the morning by 30%, and has made application fun!

I know we’re told to wash our brushes after every use or to throw our disposable sponges away after, but who has the time and money to do such a thing? Plus, throwing away disposable sponges after each use is bad for the environment. Beautyblender has a disposal program for their sponges. It’s good to have a company care. And because the sponge is such an investment, it makes you want to wash it after every use, which is also good for your skin. Just use their cleanser or any ol’face wash, soak, squeeze, rinse and airdry.

I love this so much this is going into Christmas stockings this year!

You can get this in Vancouver at BeautyMark or Wink Beauty Lounge.

Leave a Reply

