Nars Makeover

5 Apr

So I had a makeover with Wendy at the Nars counter at the Bay Oakridge. She’s a fantastic, warm, bubbly person and very experimental with her makeup. She gave me a fresh spring look that I was at first cautious about, but surprisingly liked a lot! Hey, it’s just makeup, right? If you don’t like it, wipe it off and start again.

She started with basic skincare, and then proceed to eyes and makeup. Some highlights, standout products, and tips and tricks below:

  • Hydrating Freshening Lotion – gel to water formula toner. Saturate cotton pad and apply in gentle circular motions, concentrating on enlarged pore areas (cheeks for me)
  • Nourishing Eye Cream -Gel to cream formula. Apply in gentle circular motions around eye area, patting in inner corners. At night, can also be applied around sides of nose, laugh lines and lips.
  • She then applied the Hydrating Moisture Cream, but I think it was too heavy as my face felt like a heavy oil slick a few hours later. I’ve had success with the Balancing Moisture Lotion. That one I will probably buy.
  • As a side note, the Nars Mud Mask is the BEST I’ve ever tried. Though it’s mud, it does not dry hard and for red and irritated blemishes, spot treat and 10 minutes later it’s smaller and the redness is gone. Definitely a lifesaver.
  • Brightening Serum – this one is quite pricey, but it’s a serum that improves skin’s texture and can also me used to brighten and highlight. I usually use this mixed with foundation to create a dewy look, but it should be applied to face by itself premakeup as a base, or if you’re looking dull at the end of the day, apply all over. This one is a must have.
  • I can’t say that I like any of their current foundations, but I’m looking forward to the NARS Sheer Glow Foundation coming out later this year. It was used for a few of the Autumn/Winter 2009 Collections.
  • Finish off with Beach loose powder, a light dusting of Laguna Bronzer, contour cheekbone underside with Madly Blush (take a flat brush, sweep inward towards nose, lift up like a checkmark at the apple), tap Desire Blush from outer cheekbones in, gradually lighter towards centre. Highlight cheekbones, browbone and centre of nose with Highlighting Blush Duo in Hungry Heart. This creates the inverted triangle effect that makes your face glow.

Now onto the eyes.

  • Pat Bali Single Eyeshadow (or any grey shadow) in the outer corners to create depth. Do not extend beyond corner of eye and do not extend up into contour of eye.
  • Apply the yellow green shimmer of the Dream Lover Duo all over eye. Pat Iceland duo’s very light iridescent green shimmer in the centre of eye to create a sparkling effect. The shadow adapts and changes colour depending on the other colours used. I received lots of compliments on the “magical” effect. Sweep either Goldfinger or Night Sun single eyeshadow (yellow/gold shadow) from the inner corner up to browbone.
  • Use Lola Lola eyeshadow as liner. To create a gradual effect, line upper lashline from inner corner to outer, thickening the line at the end. At the end, don’t follow the lashline (almost a straight line) and flip ends up, but not extending past eye. Use Black Moon eyeliner to fill in lashline gaps. Use Lola Lola and Black Moon on lower lashes. Use Dream Lover’s yellow/green on inner lower corners.
  • Finish off lips with by using Jilted Love lip pencil all over lips (this can also be worn with just a gloss on top), dabbing Niagara lipstick (pink/peachy/coral) in middle of lower lip, and finally a layer of Baby Doll lip laquer. This lip look garnered lots of compliments.  Fresh is the only way to describe it.
2 Responses to “Nars Makeover”

  1. Katy April 6, 2009 at 9:46 AM #

    I love getting make overs but I find that most make up artists that I’ve had experience with can never do a nice smokey eye on me especially with my monolid. I usually get them to do my face for me and always do the eye make up myself.

    • nansie April 6, 2009 at 11:31 PM #

      I was just going to compliment your eye makeup – it’s fabulous! I don’t think any makeup artists can top that! =)

Leave a Reply

