The elusive 2008 Nota Bene

6 May

First things first, I am NOT an alcoholic, contrary to what my mother might say. Sure I ingest more liquids than solids, and sure 30% of the liquid contains some alcohol content, but that does not make me an alcoholic. I just… enjoy wine. I’m not a wine snob, or nay, a connoisseur. Just someone who appreciates wine.

Wine pairings are like heaven to me, an orgasm of the senses when everything is just right. That’s why my chosen place of sin is Salt Tasting Room. So regular there that they know that 1) all my tastings need to come with a honeycomb condiment (Similkameen Honey, naturally) and 2) always a wine flight, with a sherry/port. Everytime I go it’s always a new and wonderful sensory experience. Thanks, Salt Tasting Room.

With that said, I was intrigued when Broadway Wines tweeted: “We sold out of the 2008 Nota Bene in 48hrs. However, contact us if you are interested… might get more! Join waiting list 604.734.8543 ” I got to googling. What is this wine that caused a buying frenzy? Apparantly, it’s 1) $$$ pricier than your usual bottle 2) a single vineyard blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Cabernet Franc grapes and 3) flies off the shelves, as demonstrated by the said tweet above.

So I called my go-to liquor merchants and they have it in stock. I won’t post my source, but comment with an email if you wish to know. Otherwise, they may not have stock when I get there.

Articles of Interest:
The Elusive Nota Bene
Black Hills Estate Winery

Leave a Reply

