Layering Mascara

Just had to share something that I did this morning that was a bit of a beauty breakthrough! I sometimes layer mascara to get both the best of volume and length (though I don’t think there’s one mascara out there that does that, yet) but I’ve been doing it the wrong way! I’ve always 1) lash conditioner 2) lengthening mascara 3) volumizing mascara. But walking past the mascara stand at Sephora, I caught a blurb about volumizing first, then lengthening. Is that why though my lashes look better layered, it still wasn’t WOW? Well my dear friends, I have to admit that they’re WOW today. Sephora was right. 1) Volumizing then 2) lengthening. Why? Because the volumizing mascara catches and magnifies every lash, then just build on lengthening the ends. And voila! WOW!

Recommended brushes and mascaras: Use the big barrel mascara heads for max volume, then a comb one for lengthening. Remember to work fast and don’t let dry between coats!

My faves, high and low are:

Fave high: Volumizing – Christian Dior DiorShow ($24usd)

Fave low: Volumizing – Cover Girl Lashblast

Fave (somewhat high b/c it’s not readily available): Lengthening – Majolica Majorca Lash Beautifying Mascara Frame Plus (available on ebay or adambeauty)

Fave low: Lengthening – Maybelline Lash Stylist discontinued and replaced with Maybelline Lash Stiletto Ultimate Length Mascara

Haven’t tried, but Cover Girl’s LashBlast Fusion and Maybelline’s Lash Stiletto Voluptuous Ultimate Length and Volume Mascara combines volume and length! Anyone try that? What are your fave mascaras and how do you layer?

Leave a comment