(Almost) Perfect ‘Curls’

3 Jun

My quest to achieve perfect waves/curls (subject to personal opinion, of course) was not inspired by the current ‘it’ girl with the hair “that all women want and men want to run their fingers through” Serena van der Woodsen (aka Blake Lively). With her perfect blonde touseled waves that can go either Park Avenue Princess or beachy Hamptons socialite, she inspires both admiration and envy every Monday night.

No – my obsession with waves started out with the original Serena, Tinsley Mortimer. As known as the “girl with the curls” in NY society pages, I have written about how to achieve her hair in a previous post, and to this day I still stand by the Infiniti by Conair Instant Heat Tourmaline Ceramic Curling Iron (in 3/4″, 1″ and 1.5″). As it’s very reasonably priced (less than $30) you can buy all 3 sizes for different looks – it works so well that I’ve actually brought it along to my hairstylist to use.

But I have a new hair icon. As where there’s Serena, there’s Blair, Tinsley also has a social and fashion nemesis, the one everyone loves to hate – Olivia Palermo. If you’ve ever followed the now defunct Socialite Rank, you’d know the infamous rivalry in which the website did play a part in escalating. I’ve always loved Olivia’s hair and style, but on this season of The City, it is, dare I say… PERFECT. To achieve her style, you’d need a center part layered cut, at least shoulder blade length all around, and the use of up to 3 sizes of curling irons. Complicated? Perhaps. Showstopping? YES!!!! (I was so taken by her hair in Season 2, Episode 3 that I had to screencap it. Yes, I’m that much of a geek).

But not only was this post inspired by Ms. Palermo, but it’s also dedicated to my new Moroccan Oil Luminous Hairspray. I already swear by the Original Oil Treatment and use the Glimmer Shine Spray to enhance highlights and protect colour in the summer, but one thing about living in rainy Vancouver is that no matter how much Bumble & Bumble hairspray or the cult fave L’oreal Elnett I spray on, minutes after I step outside my waves frizz out. Not to mention that I have thick, coarse, over processed dry hair. But that all changed when I used the argan oil infused Luminous Hairspray that claims to “offer a long-lasting natural hold without stickiness or build up… this humidity-resistant hairspray leaves a veil of luminous shine.” This claim, dare I say, holds true. Proof? It’s becoming the ‘it’ product at all the runway shows. Around $20 – I got mine at Pompadours on 4th, which carries the whole Moroccan Oil collection.

I would usually never post my photo, but I just had to show that it works!!!! My hair looks healthy and shiny, unlike the tumbleweed it usually is. Moroccan Oil Original Treatment + T3 hair dryer + Infiniti by Conair 1.5″ + Moroccan Oil Luminous Hairspray. Total drying time 5-8 minutes. Total curling and styling time 5-10 minutes. Bonus? It also smells like summer.

Update: Thanks to Nicole (www.lemodedujour.com) I am more curls than waves. If you want waves check out her site!

3 Responses to “(Almost) Perfect ‘Curls’”

  1. le mode du jour June 3, 2010 at 11:41 PM #

    I love Blake Lively’s hair. Ever since she starred as Serena on Gossip Girl, I’ve coveted her hair. Olivia has great hair too, but her curls are more perfect. I like them loose and messy so my lazy way of trying to achieve that look is nowhere close to how well you did! I love the way it looks. and it sounds like I may have to look into this luminous hairspray you mentioned, it sounds like good stuff! Great post babe 🙂

    • nansie June 4, 2010 at 8:31 AM #

      Thanks for your comment! After reading your comment I am actually more curls than waves (duh!) – you’re like Whitney to my Olivia in terms of hair. But I will do wavy for those lazy summer days when I bring out the salty surf sprays! Thanks for the feedback! Always appreciated. =)

  2. Mary L January 7, 2011 at 11:24 AM #

    The Shielo Volume Hairspray is my favorite volumizing hair spray. I have very fine straight hair, and I’ve tried all sorts of products. With this, I spray all over my hair first. Then I can curl it with a curling iron(which is rare, my straight hair never wants to curl). Then I flip my head upside down and spray all over. My curls and volume last all day.

Leave a Reply

