Back to School, Back to Work…

31 Aug

Fall is finally here – I awoke this morning to the tinkle of raindrops on my window, and my eyes were greeted not by the usual blinding sunshine but by dark grey skies… strangely I wasn’t too depressed, but excited  to get back into rainboots, skinny jeans, sweaters, trench coats etc. I don’t know about  you, but though I’ve been out of school for many years, I still mentally adhere to the school schedule of the year starting in the fall – my energy levels are up after a relaxing summer, and I get serious about getting back to the task at hand, whether it’s school, class, work or life… it’s a raring start and a fresh outlook on life and goals, complimented of course, by a new piece for the wardrobe or another classic accessory.

My accessory of choice for this year? What I call the “Back to School/Back to Business” Bag. It’s trendy enough for school, professional enough for work and fun enough for play. My picks:

This is my **DREAM** bag. The Proenza Schouler Large Leather PS1 ($1,995.00 www.barneys.com). Love the neutral colour (smokey grey), the briefcase/schoolbag look, and the buttery leather.

 2nd on the wishlist is the Mulberry Oversized Alexa in Oak ($1250, www.net-a-porter.com) made popular by British presenter Alexa Chung. I’ve seen this twice in Vancouver already on 2 different girls – one was in a floral sundress and the other was in blazer/jeans but it both worked. This is definitely more casual and iconic than the PS1, and there are similarities and differences. If you need help deciding between the two, there’s a purseblog entry on it and discussion in the forums.

 

The Tory Burch Dayton Messenger bag is more on the “affordable” end that doesn’t cost a month’s (or two’s) rent. Available for $550 at www.toryburch.com ot www.nordstrom.com. I’m loving the boldness of the razor blue colour and the contrast of the gold hardware. Don’t buy this if you’re shy.

2 Responses to “Back to School, Back to Work…”

  1. IT'S STRANGELY ME January 19, 2011 at 9:08 AM #

    Ahh that Alexa Mulberry bag is my dream bag! It’s beautiful, professional and.. perfect. I also like that Tory bag you’ve featured as well, I’m going to check that out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Back to School, Back to Work… « Nansiepants -- Topsy.com - September 1, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nancy Ho, Sarah Candice. Sarah Candice said: RT @nansiepants: BLOGGED: Out from the ice cream coma and into Fall… "Back to School/Back to Work Bags" http://ow.ly/2y3Pd […]

Leave a Reply

